Tags

,

Since I last posted about my wedding gown, I find it apropos that I should share my bridesmaids.  I had a rather large bridal party, but with so many close friends, I couldn’t even think about not having them there to stand beside me on my wedding day.  My mother-in-law and I created all of the dresses, and with one maid of honor, eight bridesmaids, one junior bridesmaid and a flower girl — we definitely had a lot of work to do!

Tanya Maile Hughes & her Bridal Party (photo by Lone Pine Photography)

From left to right: Sarah, Nubia, Elle, Jo, Ashlyn, the Bride, Shea, Jen, Shannon, Vera & Ola; in front, Samaire

My bridesmaids’ dresses are based on a 1920’s Art Deco painting (will post that later as it has to be scanned) and are made of emerald green crepe-back satin and are adorned with chiffon rosettes with swarovski crystals in the center.  They wore their dresses with peacock feather hair combs.  Every gown was made to each bridesmaid’s specifications as I wanted each one of my girls to be comfortable.  I had originally envisioned making low-waist dresses, but decided against it as those are not flattering on everyone.  I was so happy on how these turned out. 🙂

Our niece, Vera (photo by Lone Pine Photography)

My bridesmaids traveled from New York, South Dakota, Colorado and from here in California to support me on my wedding day.  I also had two other great friends who served as the reader during our ceremony and the VIP in charge of the guestbook and greeting guests (my beautiful dear friend who was our reader even traveled here from Denmark!)  They also helped to create my wedding vision as they were to here to help set everything up and decorate.  Words cannot express how loved I felt when they were here taking care of every little detail.  I really could not ask for more. ❤

Our Guestbook gal Serena, our Reader Anita, and BM's Jo, Elle & Sarah (photo by Lone Pine Photography)