Tags

, , ,

I bought this guest book at Half Price Books in Concord for about $5 and thought it was pretty ugly and plain, but was certain that it had potential!

Original Guest Book

The inside wasn’t bad, but the outside is just blah and boring.  I’ve seen some really beautiful recovered guestbooks on etsy, but they are pricey.  Altogether, my recovering project was probably less than $10, and that is including the guest book itself.  I used the same cotton paisley fabric and green satin that I used for my cardbox, along with coordinating ribbon.

Supplies:

Fabric (I recommend a print and a solid, but you could use just one type as well)

Ribbon (I used one contrasting ribbon, one for the spine, and a bow for the top of the cover – all depends what your tastes are)

80# Cardstock

Glue gun and glue sticks

First, I cut pieces of my paisley print fabric for the cover.

Cover print

Then I cut the satin fabric for the edge and the spine.

Solid fabric

Then I wrapped the fabric, gluing it to the inside of the cover.

Glued the sides first

Then folded in the edge and glued it

Then I did the same to the other side

Then I did the same with the satin

and glued it

Doing the same to the other side

I glued my contrasting ribbon to hide where the two fabrics meet and then glued some thicker ribbon on the spine (mostly to cover my glue marks).  The satin shows the glue, so it was necessary to cover it, but it also turned out giving the guest book a nice spine reminiscent of an old book.

Then I cut a piece of cardstock in half on my paper cutter, trimming the edges to fit the inside cover.  The cardstock covers the interior fabric and polishes off the book.

Then I cut a piece of wide, matching ribbon and tied it around my guest book, finishing the look.  I will be printing out a card in a nice font, and gluing it to the inside cover.

Finished guest book!

