Tags

, , ,

My fiance and I love classic films and I wanted a way to incorporate films into our vintage wedding.  Since one of my wedding dress inspirations is Claudette Colbert’s dress from “It Happened One Night”, it was apropos that I use the film poster for my Save-the-Dates.  We will also be using film posters from 20’s-30’s films as our table numbers, so it will all meld together wonderfully along with doing a little foreshadowing.

I photoshopped these myself, which is a program you’re going to need to practice A LOT in order to come up with similar results.  I’ve been photoshopping photos in similar ways for about  four years, so I have plenty of practice and was able to whip this up in under an hour.  Once I had these designed, I printed them out on white cardstock and cut them to about 5×7″ size and then placed them in foil-lined white envelopes along with a business card sized magnet.  With the exception of the magnets (which I bought at Staples), I already had the supplies (which were leftovers), so it wasn’t a costly project.

I sent my Save-the-Dates out in November, roughly six months before my wedding.  As per wedding etiquette, these only went out to people who had to travel (out-of-state guests mostly), my bridal party, immediate family, and since I had a few extras – close friends.  My entire guest list will receive their wedding invitations (which will also be DIY) about eight weeks before my wedding, in March.

Our Save-the-Dates a' la "It Happened One Night", photoshopped by me

The original movie poster

(I’ll post some more pics later of the finished project along with the stamps I used on the envelope)

