Tags

,

I picked up the book Offray Glorious Weddings: Traditions, Inspirations, and Handmade Ribbon Treasures off of Amazon a few weeks ago and saw this beautiful project to make a ribbon rose dress hanger.

I thought that it was a great idea to make a beautiful hanger to hang a beautiful dress on, especially since my wedding gown will have rosettes.  And what an easy and quick project as well, especially since I already had most of the supplies needed to make this.

First you will need a satin hanger.  I already had this one as it came with some lingerie.  I think it’d be interesting to use different colored hangers and come up with some unique and different ideas for this project.  You can also buy these or make them if you don’t already have one.

These are the supplies I used:  3/8″ white novelty trim, 7/8″ ivory double-faced ribbon, 2 1/2″ crystal mauve wire-edged sheer ribbon, cream rosebud garland ribbon, and three silk roses with wire stems.  I got all of the ribbon from JoAnn’s and had ordered the silk roses off of Etsy a few months ago.  You can experiment with the trim and ribbon and omit the roses if you wish.  It really has to with your own style and what you prefer.  My gown will be very flowy and vintage looking with rosettes and ribbon details, so I thought this would be perfect for my dress.

The first step is to glue the novelty trim on the sides of the hanger, covering of the seams.  I measured out the trim first before I cut it and had it all ready to go before I started gluing.  I used a hot glue gun, but you could use fabric glue or whatever suits your needs.

My trim wraps around the hanger in one length

It looks a little crooked as the seam is crooked, but it'll be covered up soon

Next, I took the ribbon rosette garland and measured it to fit across the top of the hanger.  Of course, you can use whatever you want for trim, not necessarily a rosette garland.

I tacked on a little glue at a time so that it would dry as I moved along

The finished project

You could always just stop here as I think it’s pretty as is, but I’m in love with the flowy ribbon look, so I’m going to make to ribbons like the one in the book.

I cut a length of the sheer wire-edged ribbon (cut depending on how big you want to make the bow) and rolled the ribbon back and forth forming loops over each other.

Then I wired it together in the middle to secure it.  You could always make the loops different sizes and experiment, but I chose to make them all about the same length.

Then I did the same thing with the double face ribbon, making the bow a little bit smaller than the sheer ribbon one.

The next step was to attach each bow to one another with wire, making one big bow out of the two.

Next I attached the bow to the hanger with wire, adjusting the ribbon and spreading out the bow.

Then I added the silk roses, securing the stems of wire around the hanger and spreading out the ribbon loops as I worked with it.

And now I have a beautiful hanger just waiting for my completed gown to hang from it.  I think it’ll be gorgeous in photos.  Don’t you think so?

Ribbon & Rose Satin Hanger

