Tags

, , , , ,

My fiance and I were officially engaged in September 2009.  I say “officially” as we had discussed our future life together for a few months before he placed the vintage 1920’s Art Deco white gold and diamond ring on my finger.  I had shown him a few Art Deco ring styles that I liked and he found this one from a local antiques dealer.  I was surprised at how stunning it was with the diamond flower shape on top held by a “crown” of white gold and delicate filigree surrounding the band.  My ring was more than I could ever hope for and more beautiful than any that I had seen.

My engagement ring definitely inspired the theme of my wedding.  I don’t consider my wedding a “theme” wedding as I don’t expect our guests to dress in theme attire nor will every little detail be Art Deco or Art Nouveau.  But I wanted details that were classic and inspired by early 20th century designs.  My fiance and I love historic buildings and I chose an Art Deco historical landmark built in 1932 as our venue that will set the stage for our classy, vintage wedding.

I have designed and am creating my wedding gown as I couldn’t find any dresses that I liked.  These days they all seem to be strapless and without anything unique about them.  In the past, brides would wear gowns with embroidery, beadwork, lace and beautiful customized one-of-a-kind creations.  Now, gowns are common and predominantly plain and everyone seems to want to go strapless when that style of dress is not flattering to most people nor is it modest or elegant (see this blog or this article for further discussion on why wedding gowns shouldn’t be strapless – I’m not saying that you don’t look beautiful in your strapless gown, I’m just saying that they are hard to wear, don’t look good on most people and are more fitting for a debutante ball than a wedding).  As I have been sewing all of my life, I will be creating my gown myself with the help of my future mother in-law, who is a talented seamstress.  I will be sharing with you the process to help any other bride who would like to undertake such a task herself.  Besides getting a unique creation, making my own gown will cost astoundingly less than buying one ready-made.  I am anxiously awaiting starting this process, btw! 🙂

Another element that I plan to infuse into all aspects of my wedding is flowers.  I don’t like waste, so many of the flowers included in my ceremony and reception will be either potted flowers or fake flowers.  And not just your run-of-the-mill fake flowers from Michaels, I plan to create silk and chiffon rosettes and use elements from nature to decorate.  Thankfully, I have a lot of time for these endeavors!

