Tags

,

I read a lot of wedding books and magazines and ran across the mention of using orange blossoms as part of a bride’s wedding attire.  The use of orange blossoms originated in ancient China as a symbol of purity, chastity, innocence and fruitfulness.  The custom was brought to Europe during the Crusades and when Queen Victoria wore a wreath of orange blossoms for her 1840 wedding, it became a popular custom for Victorian brides.

The bride wears orange blossoms on her veil in this 1920′s wedding party

19th century brides would weave wreaths of orange blossoms to wear in their hair and even decorated their gowns as a symbol of fertility.   They often used waxed orange blossoms since real ones were not always available.  In the early 20th century, brides entwined waxed orange blossoms into opulent tiaras and hair wreaths.

Waxed orange blossom tiara from the 1920′s

http://www.crunkleton.com/

I had been considering adding orange blossoms to my bridal attire and had been looking for waxed ones, but found that they’re not easy to find.  Luckily, my grandparents have a fruitless orange tree on the side of their house that happens to be blooming right now and I’m hoping to use some of the orange blossoms for my hair.

Fruitless orange tree

I had planned on buying a handmade hair vine off of Etsy to wear on my wedding day, but as I would like to implement historic traditions into my wedding, I think I will wear a few orange blossoms entwined in my hair.  I’m going to be wearing an ivory lace mantilla, and I think that a few orange blossoms will go well with my veil and not overpower my hair and face.  I think this will be far better than waxed flowers and look beautiful.  I’m waiting, though, to make sure that this tree blooms until the end of May, as my wedding is May 21st of next year, but it’s looking like it will be. :)

Orange blossoms & my vintage Art Deco engagement ring

